How hard could this be?  I bought a gas can at Home Depot.  I noticed it had a fancy new eco spout thingy but I didn’t think anything about it.

Luckily before I went to the gas station to fill it up, I made sure I could open the gas can.  Holy moly, they had some kind of child proof locking system that was pretty adult proof too.  Finally I took some wire cutters and cut off the plastic lock tab and now it opens normally.

When the kart came, I went to fill it up, put the gas can spout into the filler hole, and no gas came out.  Finally I did this weird thing called “reading the instructions” which were on the side of the can.

I needed to take the spout off the can and remove the dust cap from the spout.

Then with the spout back in place, by default the locking ring look like so:

gas-can-locked.jpg

You need to twist the locking ring so that the spout can be pushed down towards the can.  Line it up like this:

gas-can-unlocked

Then you can place the spout of the gas can into the gas tank filler of the kart.  You press the gas can down towards the kart to start the flow.  The tabs on the spout slip into the notches on the lock ring and voila finally the gas comes out.  See the picture at the top of this post to see how the tabs engage.

Seems like those gas cans I used as a kid were fine, but hey, environmental regulations and all that.

